Tuesday, May 18, 2010

Some lady gave it to him. She even signed her name on it: Ruth, Baby Ruth.

Testing your baseball acumen ...

Without help (e.g., peeking at the Comments section or the baseball rulebook or asking Tony LaRussa et al) can you list the 7 ways a player can get to first base without getting a hit?

Labels: ,

21 Comments:

At 18 May, 2010 07:14, Anonymous Anonymous said...

hit by pitch, walk, strike out and the cather drops the ball, error in the field, force out at another base allowing you to reach but not counted as a hit...

Bill Pfister

 
At 18 May, 2010 08:15, Anonymous Wade said...

Error, walk, hit by pitch, catcher's interference, strikeout and passed ball.

 
At 18 May, 2010 09:26, Blogger Pastor Scott said...

base hit, walk, hit by pitch, balk, dropped/passed third strike (ball is in play just as if batted)

 
At 18 May, 2010 12:04, OpenID timothymatters said...

No, I can't.

MOVIE: The Sandlot

 
At 18 May, 2010 15:16, Blogger Oilcan said...

To sum up:

1. Walk
2. Hit by pitch
3. Fielder's choice
4. Error
5. Balk
6. Passed ball on third strike
7. Interference

Is this list correct Gunny?

 
At 18 May, 2010 15:47, Blogger GUNNY said...

Very close. You actually missed one, because a balk doesn't award the batter first base, though any players on base are advanced one base, including home.

1. Walk (Base on balls)
2. Hit by pitch
3. Fielder's choice
4. Error
5. Interference
6. Passed ball on third strike
7. ? ? ?

One more way a player can get to first base without getting a hit ... any more guesses?

 
At 18 May, 2010 21:57, Anonymous Lance said...

What about roughing the pitcher?

 
At 19 May, 2010 01:24, Blogger GUNNY said...

I only saw that happen once, but it was very interesting.

The referee said, "Personal foul ... 15 yard penalty ... he was giving him the business. First down!"

 
At 19 May, 2010 13:52, Blogger samurai said...

I got nothin'

 
At 19 May, 2010 14:28, Blogger Matt said...

walk
hit by pitch
steal first after strikeout
error (not technically a hit)
fielders' choice (also not technically a hit)

That's only five. Is there a separate category for intentional walk?

 
At 19 May, 2010 16:39, Blogger Oilcan said...

How about a sacrifice - ie men on first and third, batter bunts, fielder's choice at second base, but runner scores?

 
At 19 May, 2010 16:55, Blogger GUNNY said...

That's pretty much a fielder's choice, like you listed above.

 
At 19 May, 2010 16:57, Blogger Matt said...

I think that's scored as a fielders' choice. A sacrifice bunt or fly doesn't result in a runner on first.

I think Gunny has stumbled on to an obscure rule--he says he's only seen it once.

 
At 19 May, 2010 18:04, Blogger GUNNY said...

Matt, there's also interference and the last way a player can get to first base without a hit is ...

being inserted as a pinch runner.

Hopefully, that doesn't come across as a trick question, but I did go with "player" as opposed to "batter."

For a batter, I'm thinking there are only 6.

 
At 20 May, 2010 18:20, Blogger Rev. said...

- walk
- hit by pitch
- dropped 3rd strike
- error
- fielder's choice
- interference
?

 
At 20 May, 2010 18:21, Blogger Rev. said...

I looked at the answers on the comment thread after posting my guesses. Pinch runner?! That *is* a trick question! :)

 
At 21 May, 2010 13:46, Blogger Oilcan said...

It appears I was wrong with "sacrifice" - even though the batter advances one runner home, the attempt to put out another runner counts as a fielder's choice and the batter-runner is charged with an at bat. From MLB official rules, particularly (b):

FIELDER’S CHOICE is the act of a fielder who handles a fair grounder and, instead of throwing to first base to put out the batter-runner, throws to another base in an attempt to put out a preceding runner. The term is also used by scorers
(a) to account for the advance of the batter-runner who takes one or more extra based when the fielder who handles his safe hit attempts to put out a preceding runner;
(b) to account for the advance of a runner (other than by stolen base or error) while a fielder is attempting to put out another runner; and
(c) to account for the advance of a runner made solely because of the defensive team’s indifference (undefended steal).

Now, I think this should count as a sacrifice, but baseball scores it another way. Oh well, I think a starting pitcher shouldn't have to pitch five innings for a win, whereas a sloogey relief pitcher can throw as few as one pitch and get a win.

 
At 21 May, 2010 14:00, Blogger Oilcan said...

Even more clear:

10.08 SACRIFICES

The official scorer shall:

(c) Not score a sacrifice bunt when any runner is put out attempting to advance once base on a bunt, in which case the official scorer shall charge the batter with a time at bat

 
At 21 May, 2010 14:24, Blogger GUNNY said...

The more I think about it, the more I think the win should only be a stat awardable to the starting pitcher. I often prefer the stat of the team's record in games in which the pitcher starts.

I also think the only two pertinent stats in the Cy Young award voting should be ERA and number of innings pitched. Who cares about number of strikeouts? Why hold the pitcher accountable for run support (i.e., number of wins)? Why reward him over another on a sloogey team?

 
At 21 May, 2010 22:12, Anonymous Patricia said...

What about a Pinch Hitter???? Does that count???? The runner really didn't hit the ball.

Yeah, now I see it in the comments. Do I still get the Brand New Car???? Please?

 
At 21 May, 2010 22:20, Anonymous Patricia said...

Okay..... How about if I just tell you the name of the movie???

The Sandlot

Excellent movie. I loved it.

 

Post a Comment

<< Home

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting